A general explanation of my long silence can now be found on my main blog at http://movingtoyshop.wordpress.com/2012/06/04/my-silence-part-one-personal-and-political/ for anyone who might be interested.

It is pertinent to add here that, even if the reasons explained there had not existed, new postings here would have been thin on the ground. The reason for this is that I have been reading very few mysteries. I have started quite a few but have been unable to get on with them. Indeed apart from Raicho Raichev’s latest (excellent again) I cannot call to mind any new mystery which I have read in the past year (although I have read some Golden Age Kindle freebies!). I suppose that I have, temporarily anyway, fallen out of love with the genre. So much of what is produced today (serial killers, so-called ‘psychological thrillers’, spy stories for instance) hold little attraction for me. I am still rereading old favourites but there is a limit to what even I can find to say about Christie or Allingham or Marsh or Porter (who has joined the ranks of my beloved comfort reads). Having said which I am sure I will find more! And I am sure if I found a new writer I liked I would sit down and devour their oeuvre in weeks. But for the present there unlikely to be many postings here even if I am blogging regularly on the main site.

