Lyndon Stacey – Murder in Mind (2007)

Because I am writing this – in common with several other reviews from the past 6 months – some time after I read the book, my first test is whether I can remember anything about it. In this particular case very little indeed! Stacey writes in the Dick Francis horsey sub-genre, which is not one which especially appeals to me, and her books are set in the West Country (or at least so the publisher’s acclamation ‘The Queen of West Country Crime’ would indicate). The fact is however that as to the specifics of the plot or any of the characters, my mind is now a complete blank. This is not to say that the book is unreadable for the very fact of my having finished it indicates that Stacey is competent as far as telling a story goes. That I fear is all that can be said however.

