Those seeking a full explanation of the fact that there have been no posts on this blog since February should go to http://movingtoyshop.wordpress.com/2010/08/09/my-annus-horribilis/ : in brief I have been suffering a lengthy bout of Depression.

This does not mean that I have had no involvement with the world of mysteries both printed and visual. Although my reviewing for rte has been suspended until very recently, I have re-read a number of old books and watched a considerable number of DVDs. I hope to try to catch up with writing about these over the next few weeks. The next few posts will therefore, of necessity, mostly refer to books which I read some time ago and of which my recollection is, in some cases, shockingly incomplete. I include these unsatisfactory writings here partly for my own records, but also because it strikes me that if a book has left no impression at all after, at most, 5 months then it can hardly be said to have been memorable.

